Hello Everyone.

I have been using open data for a while, I am also a software developer.
I created a mobile app to help software developers, researchers, data enthusiasts etc get a hold of more open data (including open data from IATI). The app is also designed to provide portal administrators with an effective mobile channel to promote data portals.
Please download Open Data Companion , use it extensively and give me feedback. Plus, if you like it, rate it and also help spread the word. Open Data Companion has effective and easy feedback channels within the app, so I’m really looking forward to hearing more from the open data community on where this app can improve.

If you’ll like to know more about Open Data Companion before you download (using the link provided above), read below.

SYNOPSIS: Following the signing of the Open Data Charter on June 18, 2013 by the G8 leaders, open data and open data portals have experienced a huge growth. There are alot of open data portals across the World Wide Web which provide free access to a vast amount of datasets.

THE PROBLEMS: With the growth of open data, alot of open data technocrats, enthusiasts, academia have become interested in its use (especially in such cases as datasets on city spending, development and health). However, many of these interested individuals and organisations are NOT aware of the existence of the relevant portals where these datasets can be accessed and only stumble across these portals after many hours of rigorous searching.